Republican, District 13, Howard & Prince George’s Counties

Member of Senate, 1995-2002, representing District 13 (Howard & Prince George’s counties). Minority Leader, 1998-2001. Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Welfare Reform, 1996-2001. Member, Budget and Taxation Committee, 2000-02 (health & human services subcommittee, 2000-02; pensions subcommittee, 2001). Member, Special Joint Committee on Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program, 1995-98; Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation, 1995-98; Finance Committee, 1995-99 (home builders registration work group, 1999; chair, welfare reform subcommittee, 1995-99); Rules Committee, 1995-2001; Spending Affordability Committee, 1998; Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, 1999-2001; Legislative Policy Committee, 1999-2001 (management subcommittee, 1999-2001); Special Joint Committee on Pensions, 1999-2001. Board of Directors, State Legislative Leaders Foundation, 1998-2001. Resigned from Senate effective January 7, 2002.

Member, House of Delegates, 1991-94, representing District 13B (Howard & Prince George’s counties). Member, Economic Matters Committee, 1991-94 (workers’ compensation subcommittee).

Member, Governor’s Commission on Baltimore City Automobile-Insurance Rate Reduction, 1995-96; Task Force to Examine the State’s Cemetery and Funeral Industry, 1996; Task Force to Study Patient and Provider Appeal and Grievance Mechanisms, 1996; Task Force on the Loss of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) for Legal Immigrants in Maryland, 1996-97; Task Force to Examine the Mortgage Lending Business, 1997; Commission on Inadvertent Displacement, 1997-98; Governor’s Work Force Investment Board, 1998-2002; Study Panel to Review Economic Development Financing Programs, 1999; Commission on Transportation Investment, 1999; Maryland State Arts Council, 1999-2002; Task Force to Study College Readiness for Disadvantaged and Capable Students, 2000-01; Transit Policy Panel, 2000; Statewide Commission on the Crisis in Nursing, 2001-02.

Member, Governor-elect’s Executive Council, 2002-03; Transportation Task Force, 2003. Chair, Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2003-07. Member, Task Force on Traffic Capacity across the Chesapeake Bay, 2005-06; Maryland Humanities Council, 2007-.

Born in Washington, DC, May 24, 1949. Iona College, B.A. (economics), 1971. Insurance agent. Elected member, Prince George’s County Republican Central Committee, 1982-83. Board of Directors, Literacy Council of Prince George’s County, 1989-90; St. Vincent Pallotti High School, Laurel, 1989-; Martin C. Punke Foundation, 1991-. Member, Citizens Against Spousal Abuse (CASA); Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD); Sierra Club; Kiwanis Club of Laurel; Knights of Columbus; Elk Ridge Heritage Society; Clarksville Ridge Citizens Association. First Citizen Award, Maryland Senate, 2006. Member, St. Louis Church. Married; four children.

MD Archives